Holy Virgin Mary avenue is the main artery of Częstochowa, designed by Jan Bernhard and built in 1818. It connected two distinct urban environments, Old Częstochowa and New Częstochowa, and led from St Sigismund's church to the parks below Jasna Góra monastery. During second half of XIXth century it is along this avenue that representative buildings and burgher tenements were built, richly adorned with balconies and oriel windows. In the middle of the avenue, at St Jacob's square (modern Biegański's square), a town hall was erected.
Currently, Holy Virgin Mary avenue is a place of friendly meetings and family strolls, it leads pilgrims straight to Jasna Góra monastery and encourages tourists to familiarize themselves with its history. The avenue offers a variety of gastronomic and entertainment facilities, as well as cultural happenings. This special boulevard also holds many large events throughout the year, largest of which take place at Biegański's square. Besides historic tenements with their own, often dramatic, histories, visitors can encounter many places along the Holy Virgin Mary avenue that create the unique urban ambience of Częstochowa.
"Girl with pigeons" is one of the most often photographed elements of small architecture in Częstochowa. Fountain was made by Ewa Maliszewska, known for designing and sculpting the puppets for an Oscar-winning animated movie, "Peter & The Wolf", co-produced by Se-ma-for, a famous animation studio based in Łódź.
Consecrated in 1862, this oriented church was a part of Mariavite Sisters convent, which also contained a boarding school for girls. In modern times the church holds tridentine masses and is nestled along the "Sienkiewicz" high school, made famous by its alumnus, Muniek Staszczyk, a leader of famous Polish rock band, T. Love.
This late classicist building was erected in 1870 as a residential building and transformed into bishop's curia in 1927, thanks to efforts of fr. Jan Pilica. The building contains a florentine terracotta dated XV-XVI century, probably made in the workshop of della Robbia family.
Halina Poświatowska was a famous poet born in Częstochowa, whose work concerned mostly themes of love and erotica. The statue of Halina Poświatowska (and her cat) was unveiled in 2007 and was the first in a series of statues commemorating famous citizens of Częstochowa.
This late classicist building was erected in 1875 as headquarters of orthodox clergy and transformed during the interwar period into bishop's palace. Before the WW II it served as a command headquarters for Polish 7th Infantry Division. During German occupation it was used as police headquarters and after the war, during communist period, it served as headquarters for District Military Staff. Nowadays, the building holds a city museum.
Marek Perepeczko was an actor most known for playing the titular role in cult "Janosik" TV series, portraying the life of a highlander bandit that "took from the rich, gave to the poor". During 1997-2003 Marek Perepeczko was a director of Adam Mickiewicz Theatre in Częstochowa.
Unveiled in 2014, the "Tower of Babel" mural was created by Tomasz Sętowski and a team of graffiti artists called "Dreamers". It features surreal imagery, based on biblical and mythological motifs, painted on a building wall that is almost 300m².
Old Town Hall is a classicist building designed by Francis Reinstein and built during 1828-1836, after joining the Old Częstochowa and New Częstochowa via Holy Virgin Mary avenue (thus creating modern urban layout). Currently, Old Town Hall features a museum and an observation tower, from which visitors can view the city panorama.
Since XVIth century, various temples were located in place of what is now St. James Church, on a pilgrim trail between Old Częstochowa and New Częstochowa. Current building was erected during 1870-1872 as an Orthodox church of Saints Cyril and Methodius. In 1914 the temple was again transformed to a Catholic church and incorporated into St. Jacob's parish in 1947.
Theatre building was designed by Józef Krupa and Teodor Łapiński and erected in 1931, thanks to initiative of Jan Otrembski and district foreman Kazimierz Kühn. At first it was known as Municipal Chamber Theatre. It was renamed twice – in 1938 as Municipal Theatre of Częstochowa and in 1956 as Adam Mickiewicz Theatre.
Russian National Bank was built during 1903-1904 as an eclectic building with dominating neorennaisance features. In 1927 the building was taken over by Polish National Bank. It was a place of failed robbery attempt by legendary Polish safecracker Szpicbródka and a succesful robbery by a unit of Polish National Armed Forces in 1943, during German occupation.
Erected during 1894-1907, Merchant's House is an L-shaped eclectic building with prevalent neo-gothic features. At the beginning of XXth century it hosted trading courses. During interwar period various banks were located in the building, as well as Częstochowa Savings and Loans Association.
Dr. Władysław Biegański was a superintendent of municipality hospital in Częstochowa, as well as initiator of the creation of public library. His bench statue was unveiled in 2008 and is located in front of the library that he helped create.
One of the most representative buildings in the city center, built during 1901-1903 by evangelical industrialist Adolf Franke. Franke's House is build in eclectic style, reminiscent of urban architecture of Berlin or Vienna.